AGM 2013 – Full Steam Ahead


The AGM of Gowran Park Golf Club took place last Friday night. A large number of members turned up for the first official gathering of 2013. Outgoing Captains Joe Farrell and Anne Mullins gave a detailed account of their  term of office.  In doing so they both thanked their respective committees for their support over the previous 12 months.  They also extended thanks to the golf club members for their participation and involvement in Club affairs and competitions during the year and wished the incoming captains the very best for the year ahead.  In accepting their new roles as 2013 captains’ Melvyn Kennedy and Margaret Logue were looking forward to the year and the challenges ahead. Both captains were delighted to report that the club is in a healthy and vibrant position and vowed to keep up the excellent work of both Joe and Anne. A special note of appreciation was extended to Mark Hennessy (outgoing Handicap Secretary) for his dedication and efficiency during his term of office. The following officers and committees were then elected – President – Eamon Kealy, Men’s Captain – Melvyn Kennedy, Vice Captain, Declan Davis, Club Secretary, Niall Kiely, Treasurer – Jim Walsh, Handicap Secretary – Richie Lowry, Competition Secretary – Ger Treacy, Committee members – Gerry Doyle, Liam O’Dwyer, Martin Donnelly, Eoin Jordan, Joe Farrell (ex officio)  Ladies : Captain – Margaret Logue, Vice Captain – Deirdre McCabe, Hon Sec – Hilary Dick, Handicap Secretary – Catherine O’ Connor, Competition Secretary – Ger Hickey, Committee – Eileen Tobin (Junior Convenor), Helen Dunne, Anne Mullins (ex officio)



Golden Golfers Back in Action


Our Club Mixed Seniors (over 50’s) Competition resumes this Friday 18th and runs until the end of March.   The tee is reserved for these 11 hole Stableford competitions from 9am – 11am, with a draw at 10am for anyone without playing partners. Entry fee €5, register in the Proshop.


Spring Series  –   Despite very mixed weather over the last couple of weeks our very popular Spring League was very well supported particularly by golfers from neighbouring clubs who also featured among the qualifiers.  Leading qualifier from Thurs 3rd/Friday 4th January was John Brennan (Mountain View) along with Tony Dunne (Gowran Park) Leo Dunne (Abbeyleix) and Willie Blanchfield (Gowran Park).  Thursday 10th/Friday 11th January saw Richard Tierney (Mountain View) take the top spot followed by Noel Cottrell (Mountain View), Martin Donohoe (Gowran Park) and Tony Malone (Mountain View).


The League continues tomorrow Thursday 17th/Friday 18th  January – this Singles competition can be played every Thursday and/or Friday through January, February and March  – 3 qualifiers and equals from each week will go forward to the grand final which will be held on Friday 22nd March 2013.  Green Fee for visitors is €20.00 and €5.00 for members – telephone 056 7726699 for timesheet.




Spring Series – Open Singles                         Thurs 17th/Friday 18th January

Members 11 Hole Singles                             Sat 20th/Sunday 21st January

Thyestes Race Day – No Golf                       Thursday 24th January 2012

Open Fourball                                                  Sunday 3rd February

Seniors Open Singles (Over 50’s)                     Tuesday 5th February