Wednesday’s Competition on the 22nd – 18Hole Stableford was won by Deirdre Mc Cabe (17) with 41 pts. In second place was Kathleen Whitehead (27) 39pts.


Captain’s Day was held on Saturday 25th with a good turn out on the day. The stroke competition was made more difficult by the heavy rains which fell on Friday leaving the rough heavy and very little run on the ball. However by the afternoon conditions were considerably better and it is here that great scoring took place. A great day and night was had by all and Lady Captain Breda Bolger was delighted with the turnout and thanked everyone for their commitment and support.

The results on the day were:

Winner of the 2011 Lady’s Captain Prize Catherine O’Driscoll (25) shooting a hugely impressive score of 64. In second place was Sinead Kearney (13) who shot an exellent 69. Third was won by Ann Farrell (19) who had a better 70 beating fourth place Margaret Logue(22) also with 70.

The Gross was won by the indefatigable Nora Barron (13) with 86.

Past Captains Prize was won by a very deserving Genevieve Byrne (20) with 75.

The Front 9 was won by Gay Latchford (32) with 34 and the Back 9 going to Eithne Donnelly (35) with 36.5.

Congratulations to the Miele Team who beat Courtown today – Monday. The away teams (Nora Barron & Ann Farrell, Ann Mullins & Joan Murphy) lost to very strong Courtown pairings leaving the home teams needing to win as early as possible. Sinead & Karen duly complied and won with a brilliant finish on the 13th hole! This left Deirdre & Catherine needing to win on the 16th. Deirdre sank a great putt on the 15th to put them two up and this was then followed by a fantastic tee shot by Catherine followed by a super chip leading to them winning on the 16th. This was a fantastic win, Courtown have about 400 women members and Gowran only 55 so it was a truly marvelous scalp to get. Very well done to all the ladies involved. Thanks also to Gen Byrne who stood in as Manager in Gowran on the day.

Wednesday’s competition is a one day competition only – with tee times as usual at 10am, 2.15pm and 3.15pm. Please ensure you arrive in plenty of time at least 15 minutes before tee times to allow the draw to be made.


The monthly prize giving takes place Wednesday at approx. 9pm – please try to attend if you are due to collect a prize.