Captain’s Prize Day

Captain’s Day was held on Saturday 25th with a great turn out on the day. The stroke competition was made more difficult by the heavy rains which fell on Friday and Saturday morning, leaving the rough heavy and very little run on the ball. The competition was played off the back markers and along with difficult pin positions scoring proved difficult on the day. Improved weather conditions through the morning lead for better scoring opportunities for the afternoon times. A great day and night was had by all and The Mens Captain, Sean Kiely, and The Lady Captain, Breda Bolger, were delighted with the turnout and thanked everyone for their commitment and support. A large number of members and guests turned out that night in support for the Captain’s Dinner. Presentation of prizes was followed by moving speeches of appreciation and thanks by both Captains.

The results on the day were:

Winner of the 2011 Mens Captain Prize was Eoin Jordan (6) with a score of 69.
2nd: Jerry Doyle (10) – 70
3rd: Michael Walsh (13) – 71
4th: Niall Patterson (8) – 71
5th: Tony Treacy (10) – 71
Gross: Nicky Cleere (4) – 76
Back 9: Frank Lee (12) – 34
Front 9: Liam Whitley (21) – 33

Winner of the 2011 Lady’s Captain Prize Catherine O’Driscoll (25) shooting a hugely impressive score of 64. In second place was Sinead Kearney (13) who shot an excellent 69. Third was won by Ann Farrell (19) who had a better 70 beating fourth place Margaret Logue(22) also with 70.
The Gross was won by the indefatigable Nora Barron (13) with 86.
Past Captains Prize was won by a very deserving Genevieve Byrne (20) with 75.
The Front 9 was won by Gay Latchford (32) with 34 and the Back 9 going to Eithne Donnelly (35) with 36.5.

The 2011 Captain's Prize Winners

Men's Captain Sean Kiely, Eoin Jordan, Catherine O'Driscoll & Lady Captain Breda Bolger


Members 9 Hole – Wednesday 22nd June

1st Greg Porter (16) 23 pts
2nd Dylan Vaughan (14) 22 pts
3rd Dean Smithwick (11) 22 pts

Birdie Hole (4th) Pat O’ Hara, Joe Lannon & Dermot Fennelly

Open Singles – Thursday 23rd June

1st Greg Hendrick Killerig (17) 43 pts
2nd Frank Lee Gowran Park (13) 43 pts (cb)

Ladies Golf
Wednesday’s Competition on the 22nd – 18Hole Stableford was won by Deirdre Mc Cabe (17) with 41 pts. In second place was Kathleen Whitehead (27) 39pts.

Wednesday’s (today’s) competition is a one day competition only – with tee times as usual at 10am, 2.15pm and 3.15pm. Please ensure you arrive in plenty of time at least 15 minutes before tee times to allow the draw to be made.

Monthly Prize Giving
The monthly prize giving takes place tonight (Wednesday) at approx. 9pm – please try to attend if you are due to collect a prize.

Junior Golf
Gowran Park juniors took part in the Leinster Junior Foursomes held in Enniscorthy Golf Club last week. Despite suffering the loss of JP Treacy through injury, the team put in an incredible performance and were unlucky not to take the top position. On thursday the qualifying round took place and the Gowran Park pairings of Gearoid Kennedy and Niall Treacy plus Chris Dick and Matt Kenny came in fourth place out of a total of 15 clubs. Gearoid and Niall carded a score of 73 which was one of the best recorded, while Chris and Matt carded a solid score of 80. This meant that they secured a place in the matchplay stages and were drawn to meet Carlow Golf Club in the semi finals. Despite being underdogs, the Gowran pairs played some fantastic golf and beat Carlow to secure a place in the final. Gearoid and Niall won their match by 2 holes, while Chris and Matt had 4 holes to spare over their opponents.
In the final Gowran had to play Rosslare Golf Club, which is probably the most successful Golf Club for juniors in the country. In a very closely fought contest Rosslare emerged the winners, mainly because of their experience at this level, and playing excellent golf throughout. Gearoid and Niall did secure a win in their match, but it was not enough to prevent Rosslare winning on the aggregate score of the two matches. For the Gowran Team this was a great achievement, as it was the first time that a junior team progressed in a national competition, and will be a huge incentive for all future juniors at the club.

Junior Club Competition Result for Wed 22nd June.
1st Cormac O’Driscoll 47 pts
2nd Shauna Scannell 46 pts.

Open Fourball – Sunday 27th June

1st Eddie Clancy (14) Thurles
Tony Kirby (14) Thurles 45 pts

2nd Adrian Williams (13) Waterford
Mick Gaffney Jnr. (5) Pinner – London 44 pts

3rd Pat Donovan (16) Callan
Richard Condon (5) Callan 42 pts


THURSDAY 30th JUNE Open Singles
TUESDAY 12TH JULY Seniors Open Tel 056 7726699 for timesheet.